Skip to main content

Within a file or folder, Box enables owners and co-owners to set collaborator permissions based on their roles. Set the level of access that each user has to your content. The following chart describes the different permissions that accompany each permission level.

collaboration permission levels

For a complete list of permission levels, you can visit the Box Community page Understanding Collaborator Permissions.

What permissions are available to all user accounts?

  • An Editor has full read-write access to a folder or file. Once invited to a folder or file, editors can view, download, upload, edit, delete, copy, move, rename, generate and edit shared folders. In addition, they can make comments, assign tasks, create tags, and invite/remove collaborators. An Editor will not be able to delete or move root level folders.
  • A Viewer has read access to a folder or file. Once invited to a folder, they will be able to preview, download, make comments, and generate shared links. A Viewer will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, edit shared links, upload, edit files, or delete items in the folder.
  • A Previewer has limited read access. They will only be able to preview the items in the folder using the integrated content viewer. They will not be able to share, upload, edit, or delete any content.
  • An Uploader has limited write access. They will only be able to upload and see the names of the items in a folder. They will not able to download or view any content.
  • The Viewer Uploader combines the permissions of the two aforementioned roles. The Viewer Uploader has full read access to a folder and limited write access. They are able to preview, download, add comments, generate shared links, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, invite new collaborators, or delete items in the folder. Users can use Box Edit to perform the same action (download, edit, and re-upload) seamlessly.

NOTE: If a user is added as a Viewer Uploader, they do not have permission to rename shared folders. They will also not have the ability to a) delete shared folders or b) add additional collaborators.

IMPORTANT: A Viewer cannot adjust who can access a shared link. Viewers are restricted in shared link creation in the following ways:
1) If a shared link has not been created for a file or folder, the viewer will only be able to create a shared link with the folder owner’s default shared link setting.
2) If a shared link already exists for the file/folder, the viewer will only be able to create a shared link with the access level designated for the shared link. For example, a viewer is unable to adjust a shared link currently set to people with the link to people in the company.

NOTE: Viewer Uploaders are unable to change file names nor delete files. They can only edit files using Box Edit, or continue to use the manual processes of download, edit, and re-upload.

  • The Previewer Uploader combines the permissions of the Previewer and Uploader. A Previewer Uploader has limited read and write access to a folder. They are able to preview, add comments, add tasks, and upload content to the folder. They will not be able to add tags, generate shared links, invite new collaborators, edit or delete items in the folder.
  • A Co-owner has all of the functional read/write access that an Editor does. This permission level has the added ability of being able to change some advanced folder settings. Co-owners cannot change the owner of a folder.