Skip to main content

What’s New: Grants, Fellowships, & Conference Awards




  • February 2,021: Dr. Freeman just earned an award from the New Jersey Health Foundation (NJHF). The project Development and Evaluation of Tissue Engineered Bone Implant” will investigate the regenerative properties of our load-bearing bone implant in vitro and in vivo.




  • August 2019: Dr. Kristen Labazzo, Dr. Freeman, and Dr. Charles Gatt have earned a Busch Biomedical Award to create a scaffold to prevent heterotopic ossification in bone following amputation. We will investigate several techniques to selectively grow bone to seal the wound and prevent its growth to prevent pain from the jagged bone where implants are inserted.




  • April 2011: Chris was awarded 1st place for best podium presentation in the biomaterials track of the Northeast Bioengineering Conference held at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI).




  • Sept. 2010: ICTAS Research Day Poster Awards
    • Tea won 1st place; Tea’s co-awardees included Alana Sampson and Dr. Freeman.
    • Cara won honorable mention; Cara’s co-awardees included Chris Szot, Tia Wilson, Steven Akman, Linda Metheny-Barlow, Dr. Freeman, and Dr. Nichole Rylander.
  • April 2010 – Albert has been selected for the 2010 NASA Harriett G. Jenkins Pre-doctoral Fellowship Program (JPFP).




  • 2009 Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI) Competitive Grant – Dr. Scott Renneckar, Dr. Justin Barone, Dr. Kevin Edgar, Dr. Alan Esker, Dr. Joseph Freeman, Dr. Abby Morgan, and Dr. Maren Roman have been granted funding by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) for their proposal entitled “Education Proposal: Bio-Based Sustainable Materials As Resources for Tomorrow (BSMART)”.
  • 2009 ICTAS Research Award – Dr. Joseph Freeman and Dr. Tim Long have been granted funding by ICTAS for their proposal entitled “Conductive Biocompatible Nanoactuators”.
  • June/July 2009 – Emmanuel has been awarded a National Institutes of Health (NIH) post-baccalaureate fellowship through the Virginia Tech Post-Baccalaureate Research and Education Program (VT-PREP).
  • April 2009 – Yvonne has been awarded a “Selected Professionals Fellowship” from the American Association of University Women (AAUW).
  • March 2009 – Cara has been awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship.




  • 2008 Coulter Translational Research Award – Dr. Joseph Freeman, Dr. Cato Laurencin, and Dr. Lakshmi Nair have been granted funding by the W.H. Coulter Foundation for their proposal entitled “Novel Composite Nanostructured Scaffolds for Cartilage Regeneration”.
  • 2008 Integra LifeSciences Award – Dr. Freeman has been granted funding by Integra LifeSciences Corporation for a proposal entitled “Research Proposal for Collagen Based Medical Devices”.




  • July 2007 – Albert has been awarded a National Institutes of Health (NIH) pre-doctoral fellowship through the Virginia Tech – Initiative to Maximize Student Diversity (VT-IMSD) program.