Skip to main content


Wednesday, June 9
*All times in EST
* Passcode for all meetings: 191


12:00 – 12:30pm      National Welcome and Orientation       

Christabel Cruz, Director, NEW Leadership®
Pooja Prabhakaran, Manager of Public Programs, CAWP
Debbie Walsh, Director, CAWP

12:30 – 1:30pm        Welcome and Introductions                          

1:30 – 2:00pm          Break

2:00 – 3:30pm          Introduction to Women and Politics       

Kelly Dittmar, Director of Research, CAWP and Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Rutgers University–Camden
Wendy Smooth, Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Ohio State University

3:30 – 3:45pm          Break

3:45 – 4:45pm          Small Group Discussions on Leadership     


Thursday, June 10
*All times in EST
* Passcode for all meetings: 191


12:00 – 1:00pm        How to Get Involved: A Life in Politics  

Moderator: Cecilia Birge, Former Mayor, Montgomery Township (NJ)
Rebecca Casper, Mayor, Idaho Falls (ID)
Deidre DeJear, Consultant, Caleo Enterprises (IA)
Ellie Espling, Former State Representative, State of Maine (ME)
Mary Gonzalez, State House Member, Texas House of Representatives (TX)
Whitney Lipscomb, Deputy Attorney General, State of Mississippi (MS)

1:00 – 1:45pm          Break


1:45 – 2:15pm          Kahoot! (Quiz on Intro to Women and Politics)                               


2:15 – 3:15pm          How to Get Involved: Student Advocates                              

Moderator: Melissa Richmond, Running Start Inc. CSO
Arekia Bennett, Executive Director and Founder, Mississippi Votes (MA/MS)
Esder Chong, Founder, RU Dreamers (NJ)
Brooke Lopez, Founder, Lone Star Parity Project (TX)
Valencia Richardson, Fellow, Equal Justice Works (LA)
Emily Turner, Founder, Starkville Pride (MS)


3:15 – 3:45pm          Break
3:45 – 4:15pm          Leadership Action Plan Intro                            
4:15 – 4:30pm          Break


4:30 – 5:30pm          Networking Workshop       

Sabeen Masih, Vice President of Public Affairs, Capital Impact Group (NJ)

7:30pm                     Open Mic Night **Optional**       



Monday, June 14
*All times in EST
* Passcode for all meetings: 191

** Zoom link from 12:00pm – 3:30pm is the same**


12:00 – 12:30pm      Responsible Leadership: An Introduction
(+ Ground Rules and Introductions)          

Christabel Cruz, Director, NEW Leadership®

12:30 – 1:30pm        Owning our Individual Identities   

Christabel Cruz, Director, NEW Leadership®
Silismar Suriel, Program Coordinator, Rutgers Center for Latino Arts and Culture

1:30 – 2:00pm          Break


2:00 –3:30 pm          Being an Ally 101                                      

Darnell Thompson, Assistant Director, Rutgers Center for Social Justice & LGBT Communities

3:30 – 4:00pm          Break


4:00 – 5:30pm          Diversity and Identity in Political Action                 

Kelly Dittmar, Director of Research, CAWP and Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Rutgers University–Camden
Meshea Poore, Vice President for Diversity Equity & Inclusion, West Virginia University

8:00pm                     Movie Night **Optional**                    



Tuesday, June 15
*All times in EST
* Passcode for all meetings: 191

** Zoom link from 8:45am – 10:15am is the same**


8:45 – 9:15am             NJ Women in Congress Introduction                   

US Representative Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)
US Representative Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11)


9:15 – 9:30am             Greetings from Susan N. Wilson


9:30 – 10:15am           Greetings from New Jersey Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg


10:15 – 11:15am         Meet the Legislators 

Moderator: Toral Patel, Global Corporate Affairs Leader, Johnson & Johnson Inc.
State Senator Kristin Corrado (R)
Assemblywoman Aura Dunn (R)
State Senator Nellie Pou (D)
Assemblywoman Britnee Timberlake (D)

11:15am – 12:15pm   Break


12:15 – 12:45pm         The Legislative Process

Ginger Gold Schnitzer, Executive Director, Guarini Institute for Government
and Leadership, Saint Peter’s University

12:45 – 1:00pm           Break


1:00 – 2:00pm             How to Get Involved: Careers in NJ Government

Moderator: Petra Gaskins, Chief of Staff, Office of Assemblyman Andrew Zwicker
Alyssa Dawson, Chief of Staff, Office of Senator Holly Schepisi
Laura Gunn, Vice President of Government Relations, New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce
Lauren Lalicon, Policy Director, Office of First Lady Tammy Murphy
Dr. Lauren Zyriek Enriquez, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, New Jersey Department of State

2:00 – 2:15pm             Break


2:15 – 2:30pm             Closing Remarks

Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver



Wednesday, June 16
*All times in EST
* Passcode for all meetings: 191
12:00 – 1:00pm        How to Get Involved: Campaigns and Elections                                 

Moderator: Kimberly Peeler-Allen, Visiting Associate, CAWP
Marilyn Davis, President/CEO, MDD Connections, Inc. (NJ)
Maegan Llerena, Director, Make the Road (PA)
Larissa Martinez, Co-Founder and President, Women’s Public Leadership Network (GA)
Theresa Winegar, Regional Political Director, National Republican Congressional Committee (NJ)

1:00 – 1:30pm          Break


1:30 – 2:30pm          Leadership Action Plan Closing Session          


2:30 – 3:00pm          Break                                                                         


3:00 – 3:30pm          New Jersey Closing Session/Farewell                                


3:30 – 4:00pm          National Closing Session/Farewell